Manitoba Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Fishing Community!

I'm a very novice fisherman and will be heading up to Hecla this weekend to go camping with the family. I want to start exposing my daughter, who is nearly 4 years old, to fishing. I was thinking of going off the pier this way she has water with some depth to drop the line into. I've got a whole bunch of questions, so I'll drop a few and appreciate your patience and any helpful info/hints you can provide.

Is there any chance she'd catch anything right up along side the pier?

Would you recommend any other spots around the park/island that she might have better success at catching anything, keeping in mind she's only 4 (almost)?

What should she use (jig, pickerel rig... minnow, or those fake plastic/rubber things that tend to come with the kids stuff)?

Is it possible to catch anything with those fake plastic/rubber things?

Any other tips/tricks for exposing young children to fishing and making this fun for her would be appreciated!

Cheers!

·
Registered
5,139 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum,

I was up at Hecla a few weeks ago and last year I took my daughter out there when we were camping. Your best shot is to use a pickrel rig with a minnow on one hook and a piece of worm on the other hook. I've seen walleye, saugers, white fish, perch, and drum caught from that pier. Some of those walleyes were even big mommas... I've also heard of cats being caught there at night but I haven't tried and never saw any myself.

Generally speaking, go to the end of the pier and cast either straight out or to the left at about a 45 degree angle to the pier. If you cast just to the left of the pier are alot of snags and so I wouldn't recommend that.