Manitoba Fishing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going on my first paddling trip of the year in a few weeks (probably opening week). Going to be in primarily small, Lake Trout/Northern lakes.

I have zero experience fishing for lake trout, so aside from reading some info. online I'll be mostly winging it.

Any info. or tips you can pass my way regarding strategy and lure choice for early spring Lakers would be greatly appreciated!

As is, I'm planning on casting/trolling small spoons, spinners and minnow baits close to shore and off shallow structure (I bring a portable with me). I'll also be targeting some in flowing creeks to boot.

Thanks
Rich

·
Registered
699 Posts
Lakers are just like pike in spring to an extent they are hungry and easy to fool in early spring the old jig and minnow will catch em too but you are on the right track with spoons and spinners even 20 foot diving raps are a safe bet too in early spring but if you don't get em super shallow a jig and minnow or even a mister twister will catch you some fish or if you can bring some sucker meat along and do a tube jig and sucker off breaks near rock piles. Even using offal (guts and unusable meat/skin) from a shore lunch is a good start mix and match and you will get em!

·
Registered
164 Posts
Another thing to consider is south facing shorelines vs north facing shorelines. I always start with the south facing shorelines as the water is a little warmer here which in turn will have increase insects and therefore baitfish.....and larger fish. If you have a transition between rock and sand/mud you usually have fish. The beauty of paddling is you can go shallow without spooking fish. Enjoy.

·
Registered
1 Posts