Manitoba Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to fishing. Recently, I tried fishing from shore but found myself getting snagged and breaking my line a lot. I tried using pickerel rigs and jig spinners and ended up breaking my line and losing the lures.

What am I doing wrong? I am using a medium power rod with fast action with a rated line weight of 6-12lb. For line I am using the Power Pro 15lb test microfilament braided fishing line.

Can anyone suggest a good setup for fishing from shore? For example, I had used a leader with a pickerel rig and a weight or a leader with a jig spinner.

Thanks!

·
Registered
316 Posts
Snags are a part of shore fishing, especially on the Red. Long rod, heavy line, special weights will help. Lots of YouTube videos that will give you much more info then can be found here.
Good luck!

·
Administrator
1,440 Posts
Use enough weight so that the current doesn't drag your weight. The more your weight drags the greater the likelihood of snagging.

When retrieving I like to sharply lift the rig like a hookset and reel fast with the rod tip high. This should keep the rig off the bottom as much as possible.

In the end, the Red will always claim a few rigs though.

Sent from my VOG-L04 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6 Posts
Like others are saying, I find that using enough weight that the rig won’t drift helps a lot, as well as reeling in fast with the rod tip high. Switching to primarily shore fishing was a bit of a learning curve for me, too. Best of luck!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Snags are a part of shore fishing, especially on the Red. Long rod, heavy line, special weights will help. Lots of YouTube videos that will give you much more info then can be found here.
Good luck!
Could you share the links to the YouTube videos that you are referencing? Thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hello,