Manitoba Fishing Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Administrator
1,419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One thing I always wanted to do was to go for fall muskies, which I've never done before. While summer is warmer and the days are longer, watching big muskies follow can be pretty demoralizing. Late fall kind of seems a little mentally easier, except for dealing with the cold.

So for a few days I stayed at Crawfords Camp. This was my first time ever on a big LOTW trip. The owner Matt and his staff were very helpful in terms of giving advice. Cabins were decent for the price and we could park the boat right in front of the cabin. I feel like these NWO businesses could really use local support especially since American clients can't come.

As this was my first time trying to troll, it took a little bit of time to figure out what depths worked and how to keep the baits in the zone. Tried Believers, Jakes, Grandmas and Headlocks. Fortunately I had the Ontario Lakemaster v2 chip that made things a lot easier to stay in the consistent depths. We mostly looked for baitfish suspended near points. Definitely snagged a lot in the rocks. Water temperature ranged from 47° to 53°.

For the first couple days it seemed like we didn't know what we were doing. No muskies were caught, though quite a few pike were caught. These pike were quite large as they ranged from 30" to 40" with thick girths. It's pretty exciting when the rod bends over and the clicker is going crazy. Occasionally we would fish for walleye to give ourselves a mental break from endless trolling and get our dinner. Some decent smallmouth action was accident found.

Finally after a few days of fishing, we finally managed to get into musky. They definitely were larger and fought harder than pike. Overall we landed 3 muskies total which I would say isn't too bad for my first trolling outing.