Manitoba Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So far this is my first year of ice fishing.
I have primarily fished on the east side of the lake.
I have fished maybe 6-7 times on the lake in anywhere between 10-20 feet of water often with mixed/random success in the afternoon and a guaranteed fish on the ice at or by sunset.
I have not landed any walleye over twenty inches, in fact the biggest fish I've caught was a 38" Northern Pike
I like using jigs and pickerel rigs, I have lots of different baits but the others seem to not work.
The most fish I've hooked into within a few hours has been six.
I have had issues where i will bring fish up to the ice/hole and lose them which can be very frustrating.
Is there something I'm doing wrong that can be easily corrected?
I've heard going farther out and deeper is better for more fish but unrealistic in my situation most of the time.
Anyways thanks for the help in advance. I just want more fish:eek:

·
Registered
243 Posts
if you ask me, you are doing fine in my opinion.. losing fish at the hole is not a new story for ice anglers.. ive got better success landing fish using "heavy hooks on the jig" and i upgrade all my hooks on what ever lure im using

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
Don't feel bad, dropping bigger fish at the hole happens to everyone! Sharpening hooks and using stinger hooks on jigs helps. I prefer double eyed jigs with braid snap on style stinger hooks. Also a lot of people use a leader the same lenght as the ice thickness, joined to the main line with a uni to uni knot or a small swivel. When reeling in a fish and you see the knot or swivel, you should slow down and ease the fish into the start of the hole gently.

As for catching more fish, they can be in any depth. You just have to move around until you find them. Sometimes moving only 50 or 100 feet can make all the difference in the world.

·
Administrator
1,430 Posts