Manitoba Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never been out to Pointe du Bois for sturgeon fishing yet but I'd like to go soon.​
I was wondering if you guys could help me out with any tips for navigation from the boat launch at 8 foot to the generating station where we would fish.​
I heard the rocks and reefs can be bad around there and also other hazards along the way.​
Any help is appreciated, I am new to the pdb area and have no previous experience driving a boat from the boat launch to the dam.​
also, does it get really nasty out there with high winds? I assume so, being the wpg river.​
any tips on depth to fish for the sturgeon?​
thanks for any help!​

·
Premium Member
4,426 Posts
I've never been out to Pointe du Bois for sturgeon fishing yet but I'd like to go soon.​
I was wondering if you guys could help me out with any tips for navigation from the boat launch at 8 foot to the generating station where we would fish.​
I heard the rocks and reefs can be bad around there and also other hazards along the way.​
Any help is appreciated, I am new to the pdb area and have no previous experience driving a boat from the boat launch to the dam.​
also, does it get really nasty out there with high winds? I assume so, being the wpg river.​
any tips on depth to fish for the sturgeon?​
thanks for any help!​
Just sayin', don't let anyone tell you the safe navigation tips, you need to get a map. Canada Map sales on Century, it's your friend.

Or, a Navionics card for your plotter, it's your friend too!

·
Registered
590 Posts
I had zero issues doing that trip the first time with my navonics... Just watch the map and keep an eye on where your going.

·
Premium Member
4,426 Posts
I had zero issues doing that trip the first time with my navonics... Just watch the map and keep an eye on where your going.