Manitoba Fishing Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to test out my Costco raft and electric trolling motor in Hunt Lake this weekend - my first trip there in well over twenty years. I have fond memories fishing there off the dock And in a dinghy as a child - now 41 years old I’ll be taking my 6 year old daughter there Saturday to test my raft and my luck. My dad is convinced we used to cast a lindy rig with a weight and slow retrieve - my brother recalls jigging….I have no idea what to do for bait or depth so anything that results in getting a few fish and keeping my daughter entertained is appreciated - I’ll try and update my post with pictures of results Saturday night.

·
Registered
76 Posts
I have limited experience with Hunt lake itself but summer temps will have the trout bite slow.

Small spoons and mepps spinners if you're trolling. Worm or dough under a bobber about halfway down the water column has done me well for still fishing.

Trout like to feed upwards so even though they'll likely be in the deeper water you can keep your bait in the top half. I'd probably look for steep breaks off deeper basin water, but the reality is that I wouldn't have high expectations targetting trout until mid/late September.

That said, a day on the water with the kiddo is gonna be sweet whether you catch or not. Especially because hunt lake is so pretty.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have limited experience with Hunt lake itself but summer temps will have the trout bite slow.

Small spoons and mepps spinners if you're trolling. Worm or dough under a bobber about halfway down the water column has done me well for still fishing.

Trout like to feed upwards so even though they'll likely be in the deeper water you can keep your bait in the top half. I'd probably look for steep breaks off deeper basin water, but the reality is that I wouldn't have high expectations targetting trout until mid/late September.