Manitoba Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m having an issue fouling plugs on this sled, previous owner switched from oil injection to pre mixed which I don’t have a problem with, I’m running 50:1 as per the manual specs. I’ve read running hotter plugs may help, as of right now I have a br9es on pulley side and BR8ES on fan side. It’s running to rich I think but I’m not very experienced with carbs. I’m thinking maybe the air screw needs to be adjusted to lean it out possibly but just wondering if anyone has come across the issue with older sleds. And yes the simple option is upgrading haha it’s in the works hopefully next season

·
Registered
5,093 Posts
I'm by no means an expert but what I've read is the following:

1) you shouldn't have two different spark plugs - check the NGK spark plug finder to see which one you should be using

2) don't run the sled for short periods of time. The plugs need to get hot to burn off the excess carbon. I've read to let it idle for a few minutes to warm up the machine then start to drive (not WOT) for a few minutes to get everything nice and warmed up (especially on cold days).

3) Use iridium plugs (they're more expensive but supposed to run hotter and last longer).

·
Registered
319 Posts
I’m having an issue fouling plugs on this sled, previous owner switched from oil injection to pre mixed which I don’t have a problem with, I’m running 50:1 as per the manual specs. I’ve read running hotter plugs may help, as of right now I have a br9es on pulley side and BR8ES on fan side. It’s running to rich I think but I’m not very experienced with carbs. I’m thinking maybe the air screw needs to be adjusted to lean it out possibly but just wondering if anyone has come across the issue with older sleds. And yes the simple option is upgrading haha it’s in the works hopefully next season